About Quizzes

Syracuse University

Located in Syracuse, New York, Syracuse University is dedicated to promoting learning through teaching, research, scholarship, creative accomplishment, and service. The campus shares space with the nearby SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, and the SUNY Upstate Medical University and hospital complex. The university was officially chartered in 1870. Established as Genesee College by the Methodist Episcopal Church, the campus was initially located in Lima, New York. Later, it changed its location to Syracuse. Several new facilities were added over the years. Today, it serves as an excellent resource for residents of Syracuse. The private research university encompasses schools and colleges such as the School of Architecture, the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Education, the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science, the College of Human Services and Health Professions, the School of Information Studies, the College of Law, the Martin J. Whitman School of Management, the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, the College of Visual and Performing Arts, and the Graduate School. To promote research activities, a wide range of research centers are provided at the campus. Technology transfer programs, summer academic programs, study abroad programs, distance education programs, continuing education programs, honors program, independent study degree program, and an internship program are offered. The Center for Health and Behavior, Center for Public and Community Service, Center for the Study of Popular Television, Center for Support of Teaching and Learning, Center on Human Policy, and the Learning Resource Center are some of the facilities provided at the campus. Booth Hall, Haven Hall, Lawrinson Hall, Sadler Hall, Walnut Hall, and Skyhalls are some of the residence hall options offered in the campus. Serving as information centers for various academic programs, the library system at the campus includes the Ernest S. Bird Library, Science and Technology Library, Mathematics Library, Geology Library, Physics Library, F. Franklin Moon Library, Health Science Library, H. Douglas Barclay Law Library, and the Martin Luther King Jr. Library. The Rare Book Collections and Manuscript Collections are housed in the special collection department. The sports team of Syracuse University is known as the "Orange." They participate in NCAA Division I, in the Big East Conference.