About Quizzes

Mount Holly Cemetery

Established in 1873, Mount Holly Cemetery is the original cemetery in downtown Little Rock, Arkansas, and is the resting place of numerous Arkansas natives of note. The cemetery is the resting place of 10 former governors of Arkansas, six U.S. Senators, 14 Arkansas Supreme Court justices, and 21 Little Rock mayors. Also to be found are the graves of Sanford C. Faulkner — the original "Arkansas Traveler," William E. Woodruff — founder of the Arkansas Gazette, the wife of Cherokee chief John Ross, and Pulitzer Prize winner John Gould Fletcher. In 1884, the remains of 640 Confederate soldiers were removed from Mount Holly and re-interred at the Little Rock National Cemetery. A Confederate monument was erected at the national cemetery by the trustees of Mount Holly in honor of the soldiers who died between 1861-1863. The artistry of some of the burial sites is noteworthy. A number of headstones date to the 1800s. Since many mark the end of prominent lives, one can understand their ornateness. Mount Holly Cemetery was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.