About Quizzes

University of Delaware

The University of Delaware (UD) is a land-grant, sea-grant, space-grant, urban-grant, Carnegie doctoral/research university. Started as a small private academy in 1743, the university was chartered by the State of Delaware in 1833. A women’s college was opened in 1914. Today, the university has grown to a major institution with an impressive collection of educational resources. UD is a member of the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges (NASULGC). Accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, this state assisted institution offers 125 undergraduate, 81 graduate, and 37 doctoral programs. The academic colleges maintained by the university are the Agriculture and Natural Resources, Arts and Sciences, Business and Economics, Engineering, Health Sciences, Marine Studies, and Human Services, Education, and Public Policy. The university research centers include Delaware Biotechnology Institute, Institute of Energy Conversion, and Delaware Geological Survey. Distance learning and professional and non-degree programs are also provided. The main campus is located in the northwest corner of the state in Newark. It is divided into Laird, North Central, West, Central, East, and South campuses. Besides the main campus, the university has campuses in Wilmington, Dover, Lewes, and Georgetown with educational and research facilities. Delaware Stadium, Carpenter Sports Building, and John M. Clayton Hall (a conference center) are some of the facilities on the Newark campus. Libraries include the main Morris Library and four branch libraries- three (the Agriculture Library, the Chemistry Library, and the Physics Library) in Newark and one (the Marine Studies Library) in Lewes. In addition, there are three museums (the Paul R. Jones Collection of African-American Art, the University Gallery, and the Mineralogical Museum) in Newark and one (Hagley Museum and Library) in Wilmington. Residence halls are also available.