About Quizzes

University of Maine at Augusta

The University of Maine at Augusta is a Carnegie Classification Baccalaureate II institution. Established in 1965 by the 102nd Maine Legislature, it is one of the seven institutions managed by the trustees of the University of Maine System. The university operates three campus locations - Augusta, Bangor (The University College of Bangor), and Lewiston-Auburn (Lewiston-Auburn College). UMA offers accessible, affordable, supportive, high-quality college education and work force training to the people of Maine. It provides bachelor and associate degree programs, minors, and certificate programs in three primary academic units or colleges. The academic units are Arts and Humanities, Mathematics and Professional Studies, and Natural and Social Sciences. The College of Arts and Humanities boasts an Arts Degree in Architecture, English, Studio Art, Interdisciplinary Studies, and a Bachelor of Music in Jazz and Contemporary Music. Associate degrees are awarded in Arts in Architectural Studies, Liberal Arts, Photography, and an Associate of Science in Jazz and Contemporary Music. The College of Mathematics and Professional Studies offers eight professional programs including a separate Department of Mathematics. Business Administration, Computer Information Systems, Financial Services, Public Administration, Dental Hygiene, Veterinary Technology, Medical Laboratory Technology, and Nursing are the professional programs. Seventy percent of the students attend classes on a part time basis, as most of they are non-traditional adult learners who have jobs. Day and evening classes are available. Most of the courses can be learned using distance education techniques. UMA also functions as a college for seniors where intellectually stimulating learning programs and special activities are conducted for seniors 50 years old and above, as well as their spouses and partners.