About Quizzes

Seton Hall University

Seton Hall University is a Roman Catholic institution in South Orange, New Jersey. Seton Hall, the oldest diocesan university in the United States, was founded in 1856 as Seton Hall College. The initial step to build a university was taken by Bishop James Roosevelt Bayley, who was bishop of the Archdiocese of Newark. The bishop named the institution after his aunt, Mother Elizabeth Ann Seton, who was the first American-born catholic saint. In 1937, the school established a university college. It marked the first matriculation of women at Seton Hall. The college gained university status in 1950, and became co-educational in 1968. The university campus covers about 60 acres, which is home to eight graduate schools. More than 90 undergraduate, graduate, doctoral degree, certificate, and adult education programs in arts and sciences, business, nursing, education and human services, and medical education are offered through its affiliated graduate schools and on-line degree programs. More than 5,000 undergraduate and 4,500 graduate students are enrolled each year. The university boasts a student-faculty ratio of 15:1. Today, the university is recognized as one of the leading residential campuses in the nation and offers living space for about 2,100 students in an academic year. In addition to being a center for education and research, Seton Hall University's sports and cultural activities also stand out. Approximately 100 student clubs and organizations exist on campus. Training in a wide range of athletics and sports is offered. Opportunities are available in intramurals, club sports, and open recreation.