About Quizzes

Stony Brook University

Stony Brook University is a major national research university situated in Stony Brook, New York. The university is also known as the University at Stony Brook (USB) or the State University of New York at Stony Brook (SUNYSB). It is one of four university centers of the State University of New York and one of the premier public universities in the United States. Stony Brook was founded as the State University College in 1957, on Long Island. Its first temproray campus was at William Robertson Coe Planting Fields estate, in Oyster Bay. In the beginning, the college mainly aimed at preparing secondary school teachers in mathematics and the sciences. The college was then moved to the present loaction, in 1962. During the 1960s and 1970s the university saw a rapid growth under the rule of its president, John S. Toll. It got the nickname "Berkeley of the East," due to its active participation in the Civil Rights Movement and Vietnam War. The school is also notable for various other conflicts with the New York State government. In the 1990s, a major renovation work was started to revitalize the campus. Various other facilities were also added such as a stadium, Asian-American Center, and new apartments. The campus is divided into three portions - West Campus, East Campus and South Campus. The West Campus - the biggest and the major campus among the three - holds the majority of academic buildings and campus housing. At the center of the campus lies the Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library, near the Staller Center which holds the largest movie screen in the Suffolk county. The largest gymnasium is also situated on this campus. The East Campus is separated from West campus by Nicolls Road. The campus holds the Stony Brook University Hospital - largest in Suffolk county - and the Health Sciences Center. The South Campus is separated from West Campus by a nature preserve and is the smallest of the three campuses. The Dental School and the Institute of Marine Sciences are situated here. The university offers the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Dental Medicine, School of Health Technology and Management, School of Nursing, School of Social Welfare, School of Medicine, and the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences. It offers 119 undergraduate majors and minors, 102 master's, 40 doctoral, and 31 graduate certificate programs. Stony Brook University also offers the Educational Opportunity Program/Advancement on Individual Merit, the Honors College, Women in Science and Engineering and Living Learning Centers. It is a member of the prestigious Association of American Universities (AAU).