University of Oklahoma

Start Your Visit With

Historical Timelines
Chronological Eras
Information Tables
General Interest Maps
History Quizzes

Travel and History Blog

Follow OregonCoastMag on Twitter


University of Oklahoma (OU) is a doctoral degree-granting research university located in Norman, Oklahoma. This higher-learning institution serves the educational, cultural, economic, and health-care needs of the state, region, and nation. The university aims to provide the best educational experience for its students through excellence in teaching, research and creative activity, and service to the state and society.

The university was created by the Oklahoma Territorial Legislature in 1890. The Norman campus is the university's largest, and it serves as home to all of the university’s academic programs, except health-related fields. The Norman and Health Sciences Center colleges offer programs at the Schusterman Center, the site of OU-Tulsa. Located in Oklahoma City, the OU Health Sciences Center is one of only four comprehensive academic health centers in the nation with seven professional colleges.

The university employs more than 2,000 full-time faculty members, and offers 147 baccalaureate programs, 152 master's programs, 80 doctorates, 35 majors at the first professional level, and eight graduate certificates. UO is renowned for its meteorology, petroleum engineering, history of science, Native-American studies, law, and dance programs.

These programs are contained in 19 colleges, of which 13 are on the Norman campus, including the College of Arts and Sciences, College of Architecture, Michael F. Price College of Business, Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts, College of Continuing Education, College of Education, College of Engineering, College of Geosciences, Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication, Graduate College, College of Law, and the College of Liberal Studies. The other six colleges headquartered at the OU Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City are the College of Allied Health, College of Dentistry, College of Medicine, College of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, and the College of Public Health.

The University of Oklahoma Library is the largest in the state with approximately 4.3 million volumes. The university is home to the Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, one of the two largest natural-history museums in the world associated with a university. The museum boasts more than five million artifacts and contains 198,000 square feet on 60 acres of land.

Off-site search results for "University of Oklahoma"...

We Shall Overcome -- Bizzell Library at the University of Oklahoma
... National Historic Landmarks photograph A National Historic Landmark, the University of Oklahoma's Bizzell Library figured prominently in the historic movement to racially desegregate public higher education in the SUniversity of Oklahoma's Bizzell Library figured prominently in the historic movement to racially desegregate public higher education in the South in the mid-20th ...

The University of Oklahoma College of Law: A Chronology of US Historical Documents: The Articles of Confederation
... shall be authorized to execute, in the recess of Congress, such of the powers of Congress as the United States in Congress assembled, by the consent of the nine States, shall from time to time think expedient to vest them with; provided that ...

Oklahoma State University Homecoming
Oklahoma State University Homecoming A Local Legacy What is a homecoming? If you think it refers to returning home, in a way, you would be right.A homecoming is when a school's alumni (students who have graduated) return for a celebration. Every ...