University of North Texas

Start Your Visit With

Historical Timelines
Chronological Eras
Information Tables
General Interest Maps
History Quizzes

Travel and History Blog

Follow OregonCoastMag on Twitter


The University of North Texas, informally UNT or North Texas, is a comprehensive, metropolitan research university, located in Denton, Texas. Composed of 134 buildings on 500 acres, it is the largest university in the north Texas and the fourth largest university in the state.

A member of the Federation of North Texas Area Universities, UNT is involved in many public services and assists in the economic diversification of the Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area and the State of Texas.

Founded by Joshua C. Chilton, UNT was first chartered in 1890 as Texas Normal College and Teacher Training Institute. Thereafter, the name was modified six times to reflect the institution's growth and change. It became the North Texas Normal College in 1894 and the North Texas State Normal College in 1901. The name was changed to the North Texas State Teachers College in 1923, the North Texas State College in 1949, and the North Texas State University in 1961. Finally in 1988, the college was renamed the University of North Texas (UNT).

In 1987, the University of North Texas was designated as one of five comprehensive research and graduate institutions in Texas by the Select Committee on Higher Education. Since 1976, the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching has classified it as a Doctoral I University.

The University is the home of colleges of arts and sciences, schools of library science, and music and education, business administration, as well as a graduate school. It also offers various graduate degrees in coordination with Texas Woman's University and Texas A&M University-Commerce.

Particularly known for its world-class jazz program, UNT’s Music College is the second largest in the United States, after Indiana. The music library is one of the most comprehensive in the U.S. The College of Engineering, at the University’s Research Park campus (in Denton), focuses on the specialties of aeronautical and aerospace engineering, chemical engineering, electrical engineering, computer science, and materials science.

The University of North Texas has 89 bachelor’s, 107 master's, and 48 doctoral degree programs. The total enrollment is approximately 31,000. The college has the largest residential campus in the North Texas region.

Student Financial Aid and Scholarships service is committed to helping students achieve their educational goals by providing financial resources within the guidelines of regulatory requirements.

A member of the Sun Belt Conference, their athletics programs are known as the “Mean Green,” a competitive participant in basketball, cross country, football, golf, track and field, softball, and soccer.

Off-site search results for "University of North Texas"...

The North Carolina Arboretum of the University of North Carolina
The North Carolina Arboretum of the University of North Carolina 100 Frederick Law Olmsted Way Asheville, NC 28806

Charles Whitman - biography and links for University of Texas spree killer sniper
... of charcoal starter white and green 6-volt flashlight set of ear plugs two rolls of white adhesive tape solid steel bar (1 ft. long) Army green rubber duffel bag green extension cord lengths of clothes line wire and yellow electric wire grey ...

Texas Treasures - Texas Ordinance of Secession - Texas State Library
... States, united under the compact styled "The Constitution of the United States of America." Adopted in Convention, at Austin City, the first day of February, A.D. 1861. SITE NAVIGATION TEXT LINKS Agency Info | General Interest | Librarians ...