About Quizzes

Southeast Missouri State University

Southeast Missouri State University is a comprehensive institution of higher learning located in Cape Girardeau, Missouri. Established in 1873, the university initially served as Southeast Normal School. The name changed to Southeast Missouri State Teachers College in 1919, and then to Southeast Missouri State College in 1946. In August 1972, the college received university status and became Southeast Missouri State University. Accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, the university embodies eight academic units through which graduate and undergraduate programs are provided. The Donald L. Harrison College of Business, College of Education, College of Health and Human Services, College of Liberal Arts, College of Science and Mathematics, School of Polytechnic Studies, School of Graduate Studies, and the School of University Studies are the academic units. An honors program and on-line courses are included in the academics. Also, Southeast Missouri gained a position as one of the top three universities in the state for its large number of Internet courses. The 400-acre main campus includes such facilities as the Abe Stuber Track and Field Complex, Charles L. Hutson Agricultural Greenhouse, Houck Field House, Houck Stadium, University Museum in Memorial Hall, and the Rosengarten Athletic Complex. Kent Library is a vibrant learning facility on campus with its expanding wireless network, individual and group study areas, and art displays. The university also operates the KRCU Radio station. In addition, the university has off-campus centers and sites. The Kennett Area Higher Education Center, Crisp Bootheel Education Center at Malden, Perryville Area Higher Education Center, and Sikeston Area Higher Education Center are the centers. Sites are area community colleges and high schools, including Harris-Stowe State College and St. Louis Community College-Florissant Valley at St. Louis, Mineral Area College at Park Hills, and Three Rivers Community College at Poplar Bluff.