About Quizzes

Stephen F. Austin State University

Stephen F. Austin State University is a four-year, state-supported university located in Nacogdoches, Texas. The institution was established as a teacher’s college in 1921, by the Texas Legislature and was named in honor of Stephen F. Austin -the founding father of Texas. Since then, it has been a leader in providing excellence in teaching and research. SFASU encompasses seven academic units – the colleges of Applied Arts and Sciences, Business, Education, Fine Arts, Forestry, Liberal Arts, and Sciences and Mathematics. Accredited by Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, it delivers 93 bachelor's, 61 master's, and two doctoral programs in more than 120 study areas. Further, the university has a School of Honors and a Graduate School. The Center for East Texas Studies, through its programs and services, fosters the study of East Texas heritage. Stephen F. Austin State University’s Multicultural Center features a series of cultural and social programs to evoke cultural awareness among the students. American English Language Institute aims to promote English education for international students. SFASU's campus covers an area of 360 acres in the Pineywoods of East Texas. The campus houses 28 instructional buildings and 15 residence halls and apartments. The Ralph W. Steen Library offers the highest quality informational, educational, and research support services. It has an exceptional collection of more than 1,500,000 volumes in various formats. Other prominent spots in the campus are the Planetarium, Stone Fort Museum, and W.M. Turner Auditorium. In addition, the university maintaines a 490-acre farm for beef, poultry, and swine production and an equine center, as well as an experimental forest and a forestry field station on Lake Sam Rayburn.