About Quizzes

Stetson University

Stetson University, located in DeLand, Florida, was the first private university in Florida. It was founded in 1883, by New York philanthropist Henry A. DeLand, as DeLand Academy. DeLand Hall, erected in 1884, became the first building in Florida to be continuously used for higher education. The institution renamed DeLand College, in 1885, and in 1887, the Florida Legislature enacted the charter of DeLand University as an independent institution of higher learning. During 1885, in the times of a bad freeze in Central Florida, Mr. DeLand's finances could not support the university, and he persuaded Mr. John B. Stetson, the nationally known hat manufacturer, to take over the endowment of the university. Mr. Stetson generously agreed to provide financial help to support the institution. To honor this, with the consent of other board of trustees, Mr. DeLand changed the name of the school to John B. Stetson University. A final name change to Stetson University occurred in the 1990’s. Stetson University College of Law, founded in 1900, was Florida's first law school. In 1960, Stetson became the first white college in Florida to admit black students. Today, Stetson University is a non-sectarian, comprehensive, private university composed of four campuses, including DeLand, Celebration, Tampa, and St. Petersburg/Gulfport. Each location offers several majors and minors for undergraduate students to choose from. Its graduate programs include education, counseling, business, law, and English.