About Quizzes

Nicholls State University

Nicholls State University (NSU) is a comprehensive, regional university located in Thibodaux, serving south central Louisiana. It is part of the University of Louisiana System of universities and is about 50 miles southwest of New Orleans and 60 miles southeast of Baton Rouge. The University was founded in 1948 as Francis T. Nicholls Junior College of Louisiana State University. The institution split from the Louisiana State University system in 1956. Later in September 1956, when the Louisiana Legislature separated Nicholls from Louisiana State University and authorized it to develop a full four-year curriculum, the former junior college began its operation as Francis T. Nicholls State College. The first degrees of the college were granted in May 1958. The college was rechristened to Nicholls State University with the Act 93 of the State Legislature in 1970. This 210 acre tax-supported and coeducational campus was once part of historic Acadia Plantation that fronts on Bayou Lafourche. NSU’s mission is to provide a unique blend of excellent academic programs through quality teaching, research, and service to meet the needs of Louisiana and beyond. The university arranges for the community to use the library through its campus library resources. NSU offers undergraduate and graduate courses along with the Distance Education and continuing education programs. Apart from the common student services, campus activities and programs, the university also offers a variety of auxiliary services such as dining services, bookstore services, and housing operations. The University’s Office of International Programs and Services coordinates study abroad programs. Nicholls State University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. In addition, the various departments and programs are also separately accredited.