About Quizzes

Cal State Bakersfield

Formally known as California State University at Bakersfield, Cal State Bakersfield is a comprehensive, regional university located on a 375-acre site in metropolitan Bakersfield, California. It is the only four-year, degree-granting campus within a 100-mile radius, which includes Kern, Tulare, Inyo, and Mono counties, as well as parts of Los Angeles and Kings counties. The campus at Bakersfield was chartered in 1965, as part of a bill authored by Bakersfield’s own Senator Walter Stiern. Cal State Bakersfield College became the 19th member of the 23-campus California State University system, in 1970. CSCB became Cal State Bakersfield in 1988, during the term of its third president, Dr. Tomas A. Arciniega. The main building, the Walter Stiern Library, was built in memory of that patron of the university. The university awards bachelor’s degrees in 31 subject areas and 22 master's degree programs. It comprises 30 buildings, providing classroom, laboratory, administrative, and technical support facilities. The campus strives for excellence in its four academic schools namely, Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Public Administration, Natural Sciences and Mathematicsm, and Education. Cal State Bakersfield has the highest percentage of faculty in the CSU system with terminal degrees. Fully accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, CSUB hosts numerous centers and institutes promoting scholarly research and research resources to the community. In addition to the main campus, its satellite campus in the Antelope Valley serves close to 1,000 students.