Prairie View A&M University

Start Your Visit With

Historical Timelines
Chronological Eras
Information Tables
General Interest Maps
History Quizzes

Travel and History Blog

Follow OregonCoastMag on Twitter


Prairie View A&M University (PVAMU), a member of the Texas A&M University System, is located in Prairie View, Texas. Recognized as the stateís second oldest institution of higher education, it focuses on the land grant mission of achieving excellence in teaching, research, and service. This four-year, state-assisted, coeducation college is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

PVAMU marked its beginning during the Reconstruction Era of the Civil War, as the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas for Colored Youths in 1876. The classes began in 1878, with eight black men, who were the first blacks to enroll in a state-supported school in the state.

In 1889, it became Prairie View State Normal and Industrial College, and was honored as a Land Grant College, under the Morrill Act, 1890. The collegeís name was again changed to Prairie View University in 1945 and then to Prairie View A&M College of Texas by the 49th and 50th Texas Legislature. On August 27, 1973, the college adopted the title Prairie View A&M University, and meanwhile turned into an independent unit of Texas A&M University System.

PVAMU delivers baccalaureate degrees in 39 academic majors, 31 masterís degrees, and four doctoral degree programs. The university is composed of nine academic units: colleges of Agriculture and Human Sciences, Arts and Sciences, Business, Education, Engineering, Juvenile Justice and Psychology, Nursing, and School of Architecture and the Graduate School.

Prairie View is the only Historically Black College and University in the state to confer an Army ROTC program. In addition, it offers a number of undergraduate and graduate degree programs at distant sites.

PVAMUís 1,400 acres of residential campus is located in Waller County, around 40 miles northwest of [2089:Houston. John B. Coleman Library is the central resource for all the academic programs.

Off-site search results for "Prairie View A&M University"...

The Prairie -- a poem
... page is: The Prairie Katherine O'Keefe ( Found on the Internet, dated August 14, 2000, and reproduced with the kind permission of the author[may be downloaded ...

Prairie-Grass Dividing, The. - A poem by Walt Whitman - American Poems
Poet: Walt Whitman Poem: 21. Prairie-Grass Dividing, The. Volume: Leaves of Grass - 3. Calamus Year: Published/Written in 1900 Additional Information Are you looking for more information on this poem? Perhaps you are trying to analyze it? The ...

Hilgemann gallery view A
Gallery view to right> <Gallery view to left Multiple gallery views Artist interview Artist statement Biography Press release †† Online Exhibits† |† Temporary Exhibits Listing† | ASM Home Copyright 2003 Alaska State Museums.† Web Posted January ...