About Quizzes

Jacksonville University

Jacksonville University is a private, independent, co-educational university, located on the shores of the St. Johns River, in Jacksonville, Florida. Jacksonville University was founded in 1934, as a two-year community college - William J. Porter College. The school changed its name to Jacksonville Junior College, in 1935. The college was relocated to its current site and first permanent structure, the Founders Building, in 1950. With the expansion of the college to a four-year program, Jacksonville Junior College became Jacksonville University, in 1956. The 260-acre campus contains 37 buildings, including four apartments. The four colleges that make up this university are the College of Arts and Science, Davis College of Business, College of Fine Arts, and College of Lifelong Learning. The liberal arts-based institution offers 35 majors, including 13 concentrations, and a co-op, dual-degree engineering program. In addition, all students must complete 50 hours of community service prior to graduation. Jacksonville University's comprehensive liberal arts education process weaves together an interdisciplinary curriculum, a range of majors, a solid teaching faculty, an appreciation of personal ethics and social responsibility, experiential learning, and an emphasis on learning that can be applied out of the classroom. The Swisher Library serves the needs of Jacksonville University students, faculty, and staff. The college has intercollegiate athletic teams that participate in NCAA Division I (I-AA for football), in the Atlantic Sun Conference, and is noted for its highly competitive basketball program.