About Quizzes

James Madison University

James Madison University is a comprehensive, co-educational, public university based in Harrisonburg, Virginia. Founded in 1908, the university is located at the heart of Shenandoah Valley, with the campus quad on South Main Street. From a modest beginning as a state normal and industrial school for women, the institute has constantly expanded, and now the colleges and schools under the auspices of the university have a total enrollment of approximately 16,000. The university is comprised of seven colleges and 78 academic programs. James Madison University was established as an initiative of the Virginia General Assembly, in 1908. It was renamed the State Normal School for Women at Harrisonburg, in 1914, and in 1916, was authorized to award bachelor’s degrees. The university became the State Teachers College at Harrisonburg, in 1923, and Madison College - in honor of the fourth president of U.S., James Madison - in 1938. It remained so until 1976, when the university was bestowed with its present name - James Madison University. Men were first admitted as regular day students, in 1946. James Madison University has its academic programs supplemented by state-of-the-art classrooms, well-stocked library, and learning and laboratory facilities. Students can opt for international programs in collaboration with foreign universities. The curriculum also provides for recreation and sports, which it thinks is vital in grooming some aspects of the personality of the candidate.