About Quizzes

University of Kentucky

The University of Kentucky is located in Lexington, Kentucky. It is one of the 20-best public research universities in the United States. The institution, the largest university in the state, is recognized world-wide for its excellence in teaching, research, and service. The university was founded as the Agricultural and Mechanical College in 1865, by John Bowman. The first building, Patterson Hall, was built in 1904, situated away from the main campus. The college was renamed State University in 1908, which then became the University of Kentucky, in 1916. The university enrolled the first woman in 1880, and the first woman graduate came out in 1888, while undergraduate classes became desegregated in 1954. The University of Kentucky has about 90 certified bachelor degree programs for undergraduates, 93 master's degree programs, and 60 programs in the Ph.D. and other doctoral degrees. Some of the academic programs include Agriculture, Arts and Science, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Law, Communication and Information Studies, Engineering, Business and Economics, Pharmacy, Honors Programs, the Teaching and Learning Center, and Social Work. The university has an evening/weekend college, Graduate Center for Toxicology, and the Graduate School. UK also hasan art museum which has a good collection of European and American paintings, sculptures, prints, drawings, photographs, and decorative arts.