Fordham University

Fordham University is a private, coeducational university and is located in New York City.

A member of the Jesuit University of New York, the catholic university nurtures the intellectual, moral, and religious development of its students. The effort is to provide high-quality undergraduate, graduate, and professional education and research.

Fordham traces its history back to 1841, when St. John’s College was established by the Most Reverend John Joseph Hughes, Archbishop of New York.

Opening with a student body of six, the college aimed to serve the state’s immigrant church. Chartered by the state legislature in 1846, St. John’s was the first catholic institution of higher education in the northeastern United States.

Later, the Society of Jesus (Jesuits) gained control over the college. In 1907, the institution achieved university status, and changed its name to Fordham University.

Presently, Fordham has grown to include three residential campuses – an 85-acre Rose Hill campus in the Bronx (the main campus), the cosmopolitan Lincoln Center campus in Manhattan, and the Marymount campus – on the banks of Hudson River in the hamlet of Tarrytown, Westchester County.

The university encompasses 11 schools and colleges, through which it grants bachelors, masters, and doctoral degree - with an emphasis on liberal arts and sciences.

The academic units are the College of Business Administration, Fordham College at Lincoln Center, College of Liberal Studies, Fordham College at Rose Hill, Marymount College of Fordham University; and the schools of Arts & Sciences, Business Administration, Education, School of Law, Religion & Religious Education, and Social Service.

The College at Sixty, a nationally recognized program, is organized for senior adults, age 50 and above.

Fordham’s Army ROTC specializes in various Military Science courses.

In addition, the university offers special programs such as Science & Technology Entry Program, Collegiate Science & Technology Entry Program, Naval ROTC, and Higher Education Opportunity Program (HEOP). Fordham also promotes community outreach and service learning.

Fordham University Libraries, at its three campuses, conjointly holds more than two million volumes, 16,000 periodicals and serials, and U.S. government documents.

The William D. Walsh Family Library at Rose Hill is recognized one among the most technologically advanced academic libraries in the nation.

Off-site search results for "Fordham University"...

Florence Fordham
... but more likely she is the sister of Robert Fordham and John Carman and Robert Fordham were brothers-in-law. Tredwell Fleet Carman, in his letter of 1880 to Ezra Ayres Carman states that John and Robert were brother's-in-law in a rather ...

Ohio University
... of a public university. Cutler modeled Ohio University's charter after Yale University, his own alma mater. On January 8, 1802, the legislature of the Northwest Territory and Governor Arthur St. Clair approved the charter. Originally referred ...

Emory University
... Georgia, Athens (UGA) January 25, 1915 DeKalb County grants a charter to Emory University January 25, 1915 DeKalb County grants a charter to Emory University January 21, 1940 Crawford Long Hospital, Atlanta, becomes part of Emory University ...