Alcorn State University

Start Your Visit With

Historical Timelines
Chronological Eras
Information Tables
General Interest Maps
History Quizzes

Travel and History Blog

Follow OregonCoastMag on Twitter


Established in 1871, Alcorn State University is a premier, predominantly black institution, recognized throughout the nation for its excellence in liberal arts, agricultural research, technology, nursing, and fine arts.

The university, based at 1000 ASU Drive in Alcorn, Mississippi, serves the entire southwestern region of the state.

Alcorn State University first opened on the site which was occupied by Oakland College, a school for whites.

Oakland College was bought by the state of Mississippi, and renamed it as Alcorn University in honor of James L. Alcorn, then-governor of the state of Mississippi.

In 1878, the institution was renamed as Alcorn Agricultural and Mechanical College, and later to the Alcorn State University.

The university was the first state-supported institution for the higher education of African Americans in the nation.

Today, the university system includes 17 departments and seven institutions such as the School of Arts and Sciences, the School of Agriculture and Applied Sciences, the School of Education and Psychology, the School of Business, the School of Nursing, the School of Graduate Studies, and the College for Excellence. It awards baccalaureate degrees in a wide range of areas and masters degrees in a selected number of areas.

As a part of its outreach efforts, the university offers programs and services that help to meet the educational, economic, recreational, and cultural needs of the community.

The university campus houses an infirmary, the J.D Boyd Library, a housing facility for staff, a park, Bowles Hall, Dumus Hall, Harmon Hall, Eunice Powell Hall, the fine arts building, the math and science building, and residence facilities for students.

Alcorn State University is accredited by many organizations including the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, the National Association of Schools of Music, the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, the National League for Nursing, the National Association of Industrial Technology, and the American Association of Consumer Sciences.

Off-site search results for "Alcorn State University"...

Shawnee State University
  Shawnee State University was established on July 2, 1986, making the institution the most recently established, state-supported, four-year college in Ohio. It is located in Portsmouth, Ohio. Previously to 1986, Shawnee State University's ...

Columbus State University Archives
... Information Columbus State University Archives Information Columbus State University Archives Established in 1975, the Archives serves as a repository for records documenting the history of Columbus State University and the greater Columbus ...

Bowling Green State University
Today, Bowling Green State University has more than twenty thousand students, who are pursuing more than two hundred different undergraduate majors and graduate programs.   Ohio Historical Society, 2005, "Bowling Green State University", Ohio ...