About Quizzes

Washington University in St. Louis

Washington University in St. Louis is a private, not-for-profit, independent research university on the west side of St. Louis, bordering Forest Park and the suburbs of Clayton and University City. Founded in 1853 as a non-sectarian institution by the Unitarian minister William Greenleaf Eliot, the university is now well known for its commitment to excellence in learning. Accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NCACHE), the university offers more than 80 programs and 1,600 courses leading to bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees. Academic programs are offered from a broad spectrum of such areas as African and African-American Studies, anatomical pathology, biomedical engineering, computer science, drama, and electrical and systems engineering. The university has eight academic divisions: the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Architecture, School of Art, John M. Olin School of Business, School of Engineering and Applied Science, School of Law, School of Medicine, and the George Warren Brown School of Social Work. Most of them offer undergraduate and graduate programs, and some offer professional programs. Internships, study-abroad programs, and academic competitions form part of the curriculum. Spread over 169 acres, the hilltop campus is one of the finest examples of the Collegiate Gothic architecture in the region. Most of the buildings have been placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Playing fields, indoor and outdoor tracks, a fitness center, swimming pool, and a state-of-the-art sport complex with gymnasium are among the athletic facilities. In addition, there are 15 libraries, each dedicated to provide timely and effective access to information. The main library in the Washington University Library System is the John M. Olin Library, which houses general-interest materials and collections in the humanities, social Sciences, and engineering.