About Quizzes

Ouachita Baptist University

Ouachita Baptist University is a church-related, liberal arts university in Arkadelphia, Arkansas, located about 65 miles from Little Rock on Interstate 30, and 30 miles south of [2227:Hot Springs. A private, non-profit institution, it prepares students for positions of leadership and service. Ouachita Baptist University is named after the Ouachita River, which forms the eastern boundary of the campus. It has been ranked fifth by the U.S. News & World Report for best comprehensive colleges in the south. Opening its doors on September 6, 1886, it was formerly located on the campus of the Ouachita Baptist High School. It is presently located on the former campus of the Arkansas School for the Deaf. Though originally founded as Ouachita Baptist College, its status and name were changed to Ouachita Baptist University, owing to its expanding curriculum. OBU is affiliated with the Arkansas Baptist State Convention. Ouachita Baptist University offers both undergraduate and graduate programs in such areas of study as business, Christian studies, education, fine arts, humanities, and natural sciences. It confers degrees through such institutions as the J.D. Patterson School of Natural Sciences, the Chesley and Elizabeth Pruet School of Christian Studies, the Frank D. Hickingbotham School of Business, the Bernice Young Jones School of Fine Arts, and the School of Interdisciplinary Studies. The Pete Parks Center for Regional Studies, the Daniel R. Grant Center for International Studies, and the Ben M. Elrod Center for Family and Community also are on campus. Further, the Department of Student Services at the campus provides services, programs, and activities to foster the development of students outside the classroom.