About Quizzes

Sacred Heart University

Sacred Heart University is a Roman Catholic university, located in suburban Fairfield, Connecticut. It is the second-largest Catholic university in New England, and was the first in America to be led and staffed by the laity. Sacred Heart was founded in 1963, by the Most Reverend Walter W. Curtis – the second bishop of the diocese of Bridgeport. It was established to provide the community with an affordable, quality education at a local Catholic university. From its outset, the university bore the mark of innovation. Although founded as a commuter school, the university began housing residents in 1990. It now has 10 residential buildings with 70 percent of full-time undergraduates residing in university housing. The university offers more than 50 degree programs on the associate's, bachelor's, and master's levels. Sacred Heart's Doctor of Physical Therapy is the first doctorate in the university's history and the first such curriculum in the state of Connecticut. SHU is set on 65 acres and offers four colleges - College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business, College of Education and Health Professions, and University College. The University College is committed to the adult learner, and its evening, weekend, and accelerated courses earn praise for their diversity and relevance to changing lifestyles. Sacred Heart also operates a bookstore, dining services, and a well-stocked library - the Ryan-Matura Library. In addition to the academic programs, the university offers Division I athletics with 32 varsity teams. The William H. Pitt Health and Recreation Center with its 2,100-seat arena, four basketball courts, state-of-the-art fitness center, aerobics and fencing room, and varsity wrestling room, is available to all students and to the community at large. Sacred Heart University is known for its strong musical roots, and is well known for its Pioneer Bands. The university maintains branch operations for working adults in Stamford, Derby, and Lisbon, Connecticut.