About Quizzes

University of Tulsa

The University of Tulsa is a private, comprehensive, co-educational university located in Tulsa, Oklahoma. It is committed to offering personal and quality education to each student of its community. The university campus is situated on 230 acres in picturesque northeast Oklahoma. The University of Tulsa was originally founded as the Presbyterian School for Indian Girls, in 1882, in Muskogee, Oklahoma by the Presbyterian Church. It became Henry Kendall College, in 1894, and was moved to the present location in 1907. The college evolved into the University of Tulsa in 1920, when the college merged with McFarlin College. Tulsa University offers bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in various disciplines. It provides 58 undergraduate, 33 graduate and 10 doctoral programs, and it also provides one of the world's premier education programs in petroleum engineering. The university has a number of colleges including the Henry Kendall College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business Administration, College of Engineering and Natural Sciences, College of Law, and a Graduate School. It also offers a Division of Continuing Education. The most notable landmark on the university campus is the McFarlin Library, named after Robert and Ida McFarlin - the library's primary benefactors. The library holds a nice collection of 20th-century British, Irish, and American literature, and Native American history. It also holds the world's second-largest collection of James Joyce, an expatriate Irish writer and poet. The university is affiliated with the Presbyterian Church, and is ranked among the top 100 universities in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. It was also named as one of the America's best universities by The Princeton Review.