About Quizzes

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga is an integral part of the University of Tennessee system, and is located in Chattanooga, Tennessee. A national model for metropolitan universities, it strives to provide high-tech learning and research facilities to the community. The history of the university dates back to 1886, with the opening of Chattanooga University. Three years later, the institution merged with East Tennessee Wesleyan University at Athens, a church-related school, to form Grant University. In 1907, it acquired the name, University of Chattanooga, and by 1969, the university and the nearby Chattanooga City College merged and joined the University of Tennessee system, becaming the University of Tennessee at Chatanooga. The university is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. A charter member of Southern University Conference, it encompasses four academic colleges - the College of Arts and Sciences; College of Business Administration; College of Engineering and Computer Science; and the College of Health, Education, and Professional Studies. Graduate, undergraduate, pre-professional, and doctoral programs are conferred in various study areas. The Graduate School extends its services in advanced instruction, applied research opportunities, and financial support to the students. The Honors Program is recognized for its excellence in undergraduate honors education. The campus has an urban setting occupying an area of 83 acres, enriched with beauty, classic architecture, and excellent facilities. the Fine Arts Center, McKenzie Arena, Central Energy Plant, stadiums, housing apartments, and chapels are among the facilities. Lupton Library maintains a comprehensive collection of about two million items.