About Quizzes

University of Toledo

The University of Toledo is a student-centered, public university, located on 450 acres, six miles northwest of downtown Toledo, Ohio. The metropolitan research institution integrates learning, discovery, and engagement, enabling students to achieve their highest potential in an environment that embraces and celebrates human diversity, respect for individuals and freedom of expression. Established in 1872, the co-educational institution began as the Toledo University of Arts and Trades - a private arts and trades school offering painting and architectural drawing as its only subjects. It was founded on 160-acres, donated by Wakeman Scott as an endowment for the university to train the city's young people. The school received its first municipal support in 1884, and became the Manual Training School. By the 1920s, the growing institution expanded its offerings, becoming more of a school of higher learning, and the student population increased. During the earlier years, classes were held in two downtown buildings, these locations were less than ideal. In 1922, the school moved into an automobile mechanics training facility, which was constructed during World War I on the original Scott property, but this was also not sufficient. In 1928, President Henry J. Doermann led a campaign to fund a new, permanent home for the institution on Bancroft Street. The cornerstone was laid for University Hall in June 1930. Around 400 men worked less than one year to finish the Hall and the Memorial Field House in the Collegiate Gothic design. The university received its present name in 1940, and became a state institution in July 1967. The state’s acquisition process increased student subsidies and capital improvement funds, helping the university to add more than 15 academic buildings and residence halls to campus, before the year 2000. Operating under a semester calendar, Toledo offers more than 250 programs of study in eight colleges, including the College of Arts & Sciences, the College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Engineering, the College of Health and Human Services, the College of Law, the College of Pharmacy, and the University College. The university enrolls a total of 12,000 full-time undergraduates, the vast majority of whom come from within the state. Popular majors include elementary education, marketing, and communication. A polymer institute, an industrial systems center, and a center for the visual arts, are its main research facilities. The library features a special collection of Ezra Pound materials. The Centennial Mall is a picturesque lawn area situated in the heart of campus. According to the American Society of Landscape Architects, it is one of the "100 most beautifully landscaped places in the country." The University's Wolfe Hall, opened in 1998, is among the most advanced science facilities of its kind in the nation for pharmacy, chemistry, and life sciences. The University of Toledo also has a high-tech environmental research and teaching facility - the Lake Erie Research and Education Center, located on the shores of Lake Erie in Oregon, Ohio. The University of Toledo Foundation - a private, nonprofit organization formed in 1990 - is the official gift-receiving organization for the University of Toledo. Governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees, the organization is made up of alumni, members of the community, and other friends of the university. Apart from studies, students are encouraged to take part in extra-curricular and co-curricular activities. The intercollegiate sports teams compete in the NCAA's Mid-American Conference.