About Quizzes

University of Montana

The University of Montana (UM), a public unit of the Montana University System, is a state university with its main campus in Missoula, Montana. Renowned as “a city within a city,” the university strives to provide customized education and training for professional careers. It is classified as a Doctoral/Research University-Intensive institution. The University of Montana is a state-supported, coeducational institution, chartered in 1893. Later in 1913, by the formation of the Montana University System, the name was changed to State University of Montana. In 1935, it was renamed Montana State University, which in 1965 changed back to University of Montana. Currently, UM includes four affiliated campuses: Helena College of Technology, Missoula College of Technology, Western Montana College in Dillon, and Montana Tech in Butte. Accredited by the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges, UM serves as state's leading liberal arts institution. The university encompasses three colleges — arts and sciences, forestry and conservation, and technology, and six schools — journalism, law, business, education, pharmacy, and the fine arts. Through these academic units, UM offers associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s, first professional and doctoral degrees, and technical certificates. Fully accredited online courses are also imparted. UM stands on a 200-acre campus, located at the base of Mount Sentinel and adjacent to Clark Fork River. It includes a 23,088-seat football stadium; 62 buildings; golf course; swimming pool; and soccer, softball and track fields. Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library — UM’s main library, holds more than 1.4 million books and periodicals. It provides access to its seven affiliated libraries.