About Quizzes

University of New Mexico

The University of New Mexico (UNM) is a public coeducational research university located in the heart of Albuquerque, New Mexico. This Affirmative Action/equal opportunity institution was chartered in 1889 and opened in 1892. The University of New Mexico encompasses the Anderson Schools of Management, School of Architecture and Planning, College of Arts and Sciences, College of Education, School of Engineering, College of Fine Arts, School of Law, and the Health Sciences Center. The Health Sciences Center is made up of academic units (College of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, Division of Dental Hygiene, and School of Medicine), hospitals and clinics, and the Cancer Research and Treatment Center. Through the academic units, the New Mexico university confers 93 bachelor’s degrees, 68 master’s degrees, 37 doctoral programs as well as five education specialist certificates, one undergraduate certificate, and two associate degree programs. The first professional programs are provided in three fields: law, medicine and pharmacy. Evening and Weekend Degree, Continuing Education, and Latin American Studies are included in the special programs. The Tamarind Institute, a center for fine art lithography, is known internationally for its contemporary printmaking. UNM is recognized as Doctoral/Research Universities- Extensive by Carnegie Foundation. Some of the prominent research facilities are the High Performance Computing Center, Cancer Center, New Mexico Engineering Research Institute, Center for High Technology Materials, Design Planning Assistance Center, Environmental Law and Policy and the Center for Non-Invasive Diagnosis. Known for Pueblo architectural style, the beautiful 600-acre campus along historic route 66 is an oasis for the locals. It features libraries, museums, galleries, and the Center for the Arts, which are rich cultural resources. The Arboretum is a nationally renowned facility, providing a botanical experience. In addition to the main campus, the university has branch campuses in Gallup, Los Alamos, Taos, and Valencia County. There are graduate centers at Los Alamos and Santa Fe. Further, UNM is home to KUNM-FM and KNME-TV, which are public radio and television stations of Albuquerque respectively.