About Quizzes

Florida Atlantic University

Florida Atlantic University is a public, four-year, coeducational research university located in Boca Raton, Florida. The history of the university traces back to 1955, with the authorization of the Florida legislature, to establish its fifth public university in the southeastern side of the state. As a result, Florida Atlantic University was created, and it opened its doors in September 1964, and became the first university in the nation to offer only upper-division and graduate work. It received full accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools in 1967. The intercollegiate athletics program became a member of NCAA Division II in 1983, and then moved to NCAA Division I in 1993. In the same year, the university was selected as a member of National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges. Florida Atlantic University is managed by a Board of Trustees of 13 members, of which six are appointed by the governor. It confers bachelor's, master's and doctoral degree programs in its eight academic colleges - the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, College of Engineering, College of Education, College of Business, College of Architecture, Urban and Public Affairs, and the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College. The university has campus locations in Boco Raton, Dania Beach, Davie, Fort Lauderdale, Jupiter, and Port St. Lucie (Treasure Coast Campus). Boco Raton is the main campus that boasts the University Center, two galleries and theater, a 2,400-seat auditorium, a recreation complex, and an attractive array of accommodation facilities. Dania Beach is home to "Sea Tech," the prestigious ocean engineering research facility of the university’s College of Engineering. The Davie campus provides undergraduate programs of the Business and Architecture colleges and offers day care facilities. The Fort Lauderdale campus includes the Reubin O'D Askew Tower and the new Higher Education Complex. The Tower houses several research centers as well as the Graduate School of Business. The Complex serves as the headquarters of the College of Architecture, Urban, and Public Affairs. Located on Commercial Boulevard in Fort Lauderdale, the Continuing Education and Open University provides classes for professional growth and personal enrichment. The Honors College is housed on the John D. MacArthur campus in Jupiter, which also offers a wide variety of non-credit courses for retirees. The Hibel Fine Arts Complex on the MacArthur campus has display areas for traveling exhibitions and space for artworks of internationally renowned artist Edna Hibel. Further, Florida Atlantic University includes a total of five libraries - the S.E. Wimberly Library on the main campus, the University/College Library on the Davie campus, the Broward County Main Library of Fort Lauderdale, the John D. MacArthur Campus Library, and the St. Lucie West Library.