About Quizzes

University of Hawaii at Manoa

The University of Hawaii at Manoa, the main campus of University of Hawaii System, is located in a suburban neighborhood community of Honolulu, Hawaii. It carries out advanced academic programs and research in various fields of study. The flagship university is classified as a Carnegie Doctoral/Research University-Extensive institution. The university began its services as a land-grant college of agriculture and mechanical arts, established in 1907 under the Morrill Act. It was renamed the College of Hawaii in 1912, and was moved to its present location in Oahu's Manoa Valley. Through the efforts of William Kwai Fong Yap – the founding father of the school, the college acquired a university status, and became the University of Hawaii, in 1920. After years of expansion, the university of Hawaii has evolved into the sole public university system in the state. To better distinguish it from UH’s other units, the campus name was changed to University of Hawaii at Manoa, in 1972. UHM delivers 87 bachelors, 87 masters, 53 doctorates, first professional degrees in three fields - law, medicine, and architecture, 29 undergraduate certification programs, and 26 graduate certification programs. Academic programs are accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges. The university extends its services through the colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business Administration, Education, Engineering, Health Sciences and Social Welfare, and schools of Hawaiian, Asian, and Pacific Studies; Architecture; Ocean and Earth Science and Technology; Law; and Medicine. The Outreach College, formed by the consolidation of UHM’s Summer Session and the College of Continuing Education and Community Service, offers on-campus and online credit and non-credit programs. Spanning on the eastern half of the greater Manoa Valley, the UHM campus is dotted with outstanding facilities. The prominent ones are the John F. Kennedy Theatre, the university Art Gallery, John Young Museum of Art, Hawaii Voyager Library, and the Campus Center Complex – which includes the leisure center, an auditorium, lounges, meeting room, game room, bookstore, and much more. Off-campus facilities include the Lyon Arboretum, the Waikiki Aquarium, several marine facilities, and the world famous telescopes, on the top of Mauna Kea.