About Quizzes

University of North Carolina at Asheville

The University of North Carolina at Asheville (UNCA) is the only designated liberal arts university in the University of North Carolina system. It is one of the six public universities in the country classified as national liberal arts universities (Liberal Arts I). UNCA was established in 1927 as Buncombe County Junior College. Over the years, the Asheville, North Carolina school has undergone several changes in name and location. In 1957, it became the first two-year institution in North Carolina, and was renamed Asheville-Biltmore College. By 1961, the college has moved to its present location. After two years, it became a state-supported senior college. The college awarded the first baccalaureate degrees in liberal arts in 1966. Asheville-Biltmore College merged with the Consolidated University of North Carolina in 1969 as the University of North Carolina at Asheville. The campus is located on 265 scenic acres, one mile north of downtown Asheville. There are approximately 30 buildings, including classrooms, administration, residence and recreation. Over 60 clubs and organizations function within the campus. Other facilities include D. Hiden Ramsey Library, the Justice Athletic Center, the Health and Fitness Center, and Greenwood Field. UNCA offers undergraduate courses in the arts, the humanities, and the natural and social sciences, and graduate level in Master of Liberal Arts. It also conducts pre-professional programs such as undergraduate Research Program, Teaching Fellows Program, Africana studies, Jewish studies, integrative liberal studies and Women's Studies.