Daly Mansion is a historic house located in the heart of the Bitterroot Valley, just outside of Hamilton, Montana.
Operated by the Daly Mansion Preservation Trust, the structure is a National Historic Site sponsored by the Montana State Historical Society.
The mansion was a part of the 22,000-acre Bitterroot Stock Farm owned by Marcus Daly, an enterprising Irish immigrant acknowledged as one of the three "copper kings," the others being William Andrews Clark and F. Augustus Heinze. Owing to its close proximity to the Bitterroot River, the mansion was formerly known as "Riverside."
The mansion's history dates to 1886, when Marcus Daly purchased the Anthony Chaffin homestead, including the farmhouse. He remodeled the house in 1889.
In 1897, Daly upgraded the mansion to a Queen Anne-style Victorian home and made it his summer residence. In 1910, his widow, Margaret, renovated the mansion to its present Georgian-Revival style.
Spread over 24,000 square feet, the great house consists of three floors with 25 bedrooms, 15 bathrooms, and seven fireplaces, of which five are graced with imported Italian marble.
A capacious living room, music room, dining room, sun room, and trophy room are showcased. There also is a swimming pool and a playhouse.
The mansion, surrounded by 50 acres of land, now hosts weddings and private parties.